ATP: Kei Nishikori begin year with Brisbane triumph

January 7, 2019 - rahul

No Comments

Kei Nishikori, who had lost nine consecutive ATP finals over 52 tournaments in nearly three years won his first ATP title with a dominating final set to beat Daniil Medvedev 6-4, 3-6, 6-2 in the Brisbane International final on Sunday.

the Japanese take first set with ease but went down 0-3 to the Russian result in game went to decider till the Japanese seed completely outplayed his opponent in final set with dominating play showing his class.

Earlier, Karolina Pliskova won her second Brisbane title, beating Lesia Tsurenko 4-6, 7-5, 6-2 after coming within just two points of defeat. Pliskova improved her record in Brisbane to 13-2 and joined Victoria Azarenka (2009, 2016) and Serena Williams (2013-14) as the third woman to win the tournament twice.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *